You probably drive on North Carolina roads at least once a day, or at least you did before COVID-19. Every driver needs to understand and obey traffic laws. Let’s look at some of the more interesting and possibly quirky North Carolina traffic laws on the books today.
#1. Fender Bender Law.
Hopefully, any accident you have will be minor. If so, please note that North Carolina’s fender bender law requires that you move your car to the side of the road for minor, non-injury accidents. Not only does this allow the traffic to keep moving, but it’s safer for everyone. Failing to follow this law can lead to a fine and court costs.
#2. No Parking on Highways.
Never leave your car parked on a North Carolina highway. This ban includes parking near or in front of private driveways, within 15 feet of a fire hydrant, near intersections, and near fire station entrances. Whether you are with your car or not, don’t park on highways or highway bridges unless your vehicle is disabled.
#3. No Drivers Under 18 Using Cell Phones.
Texting is illegal for drivers of all ages. However, teen drivers should be aware that any use of a cell phone while driving is banned. The law states that drivers under age 18 cannot:
“… use a mobile telephone or other additional technology associated with a mobile telephone while operating the vehicle on a public street or highway or public vehicular area.”
Phones are important, but most calls can wait until you have stopped your vehicle in a safe place.
#4. Move Over Law.
You must move over one lane or slow down when you pass law enforcement and emergency vehicles with their flashing lights on. This law also applies if you see emergency vehicles or police parked by the side of the road. Failing to follow this law could lead to a $250 fine.
#5. Passengers Without Seat Belts Can Be Fined
You have probably heard of seat belt laws. But did you know that North Carolina traffic laws require that all occupants of a vehicle use a seat belt? Passengers who fail to comply can be fined $25 if sitting in the front seat and $10 if seated in the car’s backseat.
#6. No Driving Too Slowly.
Almost everyone has received a speeding ticket. However, North Carolina traffic laws allow police to ticket people driving too slowly because they could be impeding traffic flow. Also, going too slow in the left lane of certain roads could lead to a traffic citation.
#7. Illegal to Play in Traffic.
The law states that you cannot be on the roadway while using roller skates, sleds, and toy vehicles. Exceptions include engaging in these activities while in a crosswalk, on streets designated for play, or using a bicycle.
#8. Drivers Must Report Some Accidents to Law Enforcement.
The police don’t always appear at traffic accidents. In some cases, drivers must report “crashes involving death, personal injury, or property damage or $1,000 or more.” Law enforcement can prosecute for violation of this North Carolina traffic law.
#9. Quick Clearance Law.
This one seems similar to other North Carolina traffic laws, including those related to fender benders and parking on highways. However, this law allows law enforcement and their agents to remove vehicles from the road quickly if necessary.
#10. No Joyrides Through Cemeteries.
In some locations, laws prohibit people from driving through cemeteries unless you are there for a burial or visiting a lot.
Call if You Received a Citation for Violating Any North Carolina Traffic Laws
Attorney Leslie Craft has the experience you need to deal with bankruptcy and traffic violations. Ms. Craft’s goal is always to help her clients get past their legal problems and get on with their lives.
Bankruptcy doesn’t have to be a painful process. To schedule a free personal consultation, call Craft Law Offices at (252) 752-0297 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. My offices are located in Greenville, Morehead City, and Rocky Mount for your convenience. I also represent clients in surrounding Eastern North Carolina communities, including Warrenton, Elizabeth City, Roanoke Rapids, Goldsboro, and Jacksonville.