Before you could get your first driver’s license, you studied traffic laws so you could pass the written test. But after you are out on the road, it’s easy to forget. This article serves as a reminder of some of the most common North Carolina traffic violations you might face. We will also look at the penalties you might pay, especially if you do not have legal counsel to help you through the traffic courts.
#1. Speed Limit Violation
In 2019, law enforcement issued almost 300,000 speeding violations. Since North Carolina is an ‘absolute speed limit’ state, you can get a speeding ticket for going only one mile over the speed limit.
Penalties for North Carolina traffic violations for speeding include:
- fines between $100 and $1,000,
- court costs,
- jail time,
- points on your license,
- suspension of license,
- revocation of license.
Also, state law governs traffic ticket penalties. Every county in the state uses the same penalty system.
#2. Stop Sign/Light Violation
Traffic signs and signals are there for a good reason – to keep us safe. But people often run stop signs and red lights. That’s why this is another one of the most common North Carolina traffic violations.
Penalties for this type of violation include small fines, court costs, and points. However, this infraction could lead to a reckless driving ticket also.
#3. Safe Movement Violations
You may also hear these called simply moving violations. Law enforcement could ticket you for making unsafe lane changes, illegal turns, and failing to yield the right of way.
Penalties vary for this type of traffic ticket. However, committing this North Carolina traffic violations in conjunction with a serious accident probably means the court will schedule a mandatory hearing for you.
#4. Vehicle Equipment Violations
State laws require vehicles to have certain types of equipment. For example, automobiles must have headlamps and rear lamps as well as seat belts.
You might be fined at least $50.00 for an improper equipment offense. In addition, you will have court costs. Typically, the state does not assess points on your license for this type of violation.
#5. Vehicle Regulatory Violations
Even vehicles must meet certain laws. For example, vehicles must be registered by the state and have appropriate, unexpired license plates. You are also required to have automobile insurance.
You can be charged with a Class 3 misdemeanor for operating a vehicle:
- with an expired or fraudulent registration,
- with expired plates or no plates at all, or
- without any automobile insurance.
The most important thing to remember here is that you need to talk to an attorney as soon as possible, no matter what North Carolina traffic ticket you receive.
Have You Received Any North Carolina Traffic Violations?
Navigating North Carolina traffic courts can be challenging. Having an experienced lawyer by your side might make a big difference in resolving your infractions.
Attorney Leslie Craft has the experience you need to deal with traffic violations. Ms. Craft’s goal is always to help her clients get past their legal problems and get on with their lives.
To schedule a free personal consultation, call Craft Law Offices at (252) 752-0297 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. My offices are located in Greenville, Morehead City, and Rocky Mount for your convenience. I also represent clients with traffic offenses in Nash, Edgecombe, Wilson and Pitt counties. in surrounding Eastern North Carolina communities, including Warrenton, Elizabeth City, Roanoke Rapids, Goldsboro, and Jacksonville.