North Carolina is known for its tree-covered mountains, vibrant cities, sandy beaches, and scenic drives. But if you are driving in North Carolina – even if you are just passing through on I-95 – you need to be aware of state laws. For example, many North Carolina traffic citations require that you attend a mandatory court hearing. So, if you receive one of the following tickets, you will have to return to face the charges in court. On the other hand, you can hire someone to represent you in court.
#1. All Not Guilty Pleas for North Carolina Traffic Citations
If you plan to plead not guilty, you should also plan to attend a mandatory court hearing. Also, this rule applies to all traffic offenses, not just the ones on this list.
#2. Driving Without a License or Without the Right License
Law enforcement officers give North Carolina traffic citations for the following license-related offenses:
- Driving while your license is suspended, revoked, or disqualified;
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without the appropriate license;
- Also, driving a commercial vehicle while your commercial license has been suspended, or revoked; and
- Trying to pass someone else’s license off as your own.
#3. Driving While Subject to Impairing Substance
Alcohol is not the only ‘impairing substance’ that can lead to a North Carolina traffic citation. Actually, any amount of a Schedule I controlled substance in a driver’s blood violates North Carolina law (G.S. 20-138.2).
#4. Underage Drivers Who Have Been Drinking
Drivers over age 21 might be able to drink small amounts of alcohol without getting to the point of being impaired. However, drivers who are under the age of 21can be ticketed just for drinking any amount and then driving. They don’t have to be impaired.
#5. Careless and Reckless Driving Leads to North Carolina Traffic Citations
North Carolina law defines a reckless driver as someone who willfully or wantonly disregards “the rights or safety of others.” To protect other drivers, the police usually pull over someone who is driving in a way that might hurt other people.
#6. Driving More than 80 mph
Speed limits are there for the safety of everyone on the road. Driving a little bit over the speed limit can get you a speeding ticket. However, driving more than 80 miles per hour is excessive. In addition to endangering yourself and others, you might get a North Carolina traffic citation that requires a mandatory court hearing.
#7. Racing Leads to North Carolina Traffic Citations
It does not matter whether your race was prearranged or spontaneous. Any type of racing violates North Carolina traffic laws.
#8. Driving to Elude Arrest
Sometimes the entertainment industry makes running from the police look exciting. However, it’s really very dangerous – and against the law. If the police try to arrest you and you drive away, prepare for some serious North Carolina traffic citations.
#9. Certain Accidents Involving Injury, Death, or Property Damage
Accidents range from fender benders to fatalities. However, you may be required to attend a mandatory court hearing if:
- Someone dies in the accident;
- You failed to give the right of way when being passed;
- Your unsafe movements caused at least $5,000 of property damage or serious injury.
#10. Failing to Stop at an Accident or Report the Accident
Speaking of accidents, North Carolina traffic citations often are handed to people who don’t stop at the accident or who fail to report it.
#11. Passing a Stopped School Bus.
North Carolina traffic laws prohibit drivers from passing a stopped school bus in order to protect children who may be entering or exiting the bus. Law enforcement takes this violation seriously.
#12. Certain Violations of Financial Responsibility Laws
North Carolina traffic citations for this type of violation should be reviewed with an experienced attorney as soon as possible.
Mandatory Court Hearings for North Carolina Traffic Citations Are Challenging.
Attorney Leslie Craft has the experience you need to deal with traffic violations. Ms. Craft’s goal is always to help her clients get past their legal problems and get on with their lives. Consultations are free and only take about 30 – 45 minutes of your time. Your options may surprise and even excite you!
To schedule a free personal consultation, call Craft Law Offices at (252) 752-0297 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. My offices are located in Greenville, Morehead City, and Rocky Mount for your convenience. I also represent clients in surrounding Eastern North Carolina communities, including Warrenton, Elizabeth City, Roanoke Rapids, Goldsboro, and Jacksonville.
Bankruptcy Doesn’t Have to Be a Painful Process.